YouTube is giving some creators a little grace after flagging their channels for violations of its spam policy.
Historically, creators who are flagged for spam–a broad category that includes everything from viewbotting, to posting “low-effort, repetitive” comments or polls, to promoting get-rich-quick schemes, to mass-reposting content from other people–get their channels immediately terminated. That means all of a channel’s videos, subscribers, comments, and of course revenue are gone. Creators can appeal this decision, but their channel will remain offline while they go through the process and hope for a better outcome.
The new path YouTube is testing will give them a chance to fix the (alleged) errors of their ways and get their channels back up.
Under the new process, once a channel is flagged, it will be removed from public viewership–but will not be deleted.
Instead, “it will enter a 30-day locked period and the channel owner will be notified via email and in YouTube Studio on desktop,” Team YouTube wrote in a Help Center post. “Certain actions, such as uploading new videos or posting comments, will not be available while your channel is locked.”
Team YouTube said that if a creator chooses option 1, submits their edited channel for approval, and is rejected, they can still take option 2 as long as they’re within the 30-day window. Using option 2 at any point in the process will allow creators to “start fresh while keeping [their] subscribers, channel handle, and YPP status,” the team explained.
Here’s the section of the policy that has us wondering: “Automated or synthetic mass-production: Using automated tools or AI to churn out high volumes of similar content with minimal changes.
Source link







