The new security feature is designed to keep creator channels safe by preventing bad actors from uploading content or starting livestreams.
YouTube has launched a new temporary pause feature for accounts that its system suspects have been hacked or interfered with. This could provide more protection and assurance for creators.
YouTube said that under this new process, it will temporarily pause certain features in order to keep a channel safe if it detects unusual activity.
As explained by YouTube: “When a channel is hijacked, hackers look to quickly lock account owners out and upload unwanted videos or live streams. To protect your channel and viewers, we’ll now automatically apply a temporary feature pause if we detect unusual or unauthorized activity on your channel.”
YouTube said that when this pause is in effect, the channel will not be able to upload content, start a livestream or add videos to playlists.
The platform will also automatically pause the creation of custom thumbnails and prevent switching videos from private to unlisted or public.
“While this feature pause is in place, our security teams will review the channel’s status, typically within 24 hours.” YouTube said. “If your account security is verified, full access is immediately restored. If unauthorized activity is confirmed, we’ll reach out with next steps to help you regain access.”
The feature could offer more assurance for channel managers, many of whom have spent years building an audience in the app and monetizing their content. Now, these creators will have additional assurance as to how their YouTube channel is protected in the case of hacks.
Source link







