The option allows users to share shorter snippets of creator content while still giving credit and allowing both posters to earn monetary rewards.
X has added another way for users to share content and ensure that original creators get credit, with the launch of its new clipping option for videos.
As shown in this example screen, now, when viewing a video on X that is 2 minutes or longer, users will be able to select “clip video” from the repost options.
With this, users can choose a specific segment of the original video to share, from 5 to 60 seconds in length (limited to 30% of the original clip). They can then re-post and add their own commentary.
The re-shared clip will include an overlay that displays the creator’s handle, while viewers of the re-shared clip will also be able to easily tap through to the full video to view the full surrounding context.
As per X: “The timestamp shows where the clip sits in the original video, such as 1:14/25:00.”
What’s more, both the creator and the sharing account will be credited with any impressions generated as a result of this process, ensuring that everyone gets an opportunity to earn from X’s Original Creator Rewards program.
This could be a valuable way to drive more video engagement and ensure that creators get more credit and exposure from re-shares of their content.
At present, creators don’t have the option to turn off clipping for their videos. The only option to avoid unwanted clips is to delete the original video post, which will result in any clips generated from it also being removed from the app.
Source link







