A password leak warning doesn't necessarily mean your account was hacked. Here's how Apple's alerts work and what to do next.
While many iPhone notifications can be easily dismissed, a warning that a saved password may have appeared in a data leak is harder to ignore. It makes you wonder if someone has accessed your account or if Apple's tool is flagging a password that could be misused. Either way, you can quickly find out which logins require attention rather than spending the day guessing.
Apple's password warnings are real, but they don't necessarily mean your iPhone was hacked or that someone got into your accounts. iOS compares passwords stored in the Passwords app with leaked password data, even if the website listed hasn't reported a breach. The warning isn't the only opportunity to take action: flagged accounts are stored in the Passwords app for your review. Here's how Apple checks for leaked passwords and what to do about the ones it flags.
The free Passwords app provides a safe repository for logins and passkeys, which can be synced via iCloud Keychain with end-to-end encryption. If you're already invested in Apple's ecosystem, it's a great option for creating strong passwords and autofilling them on websites and apps. While Apple doesn't have a native iCloud Passwords app for Android, Windows users can access it via Chrome or Edge after setting up iCloud for Windows and the browser extension.
To know if any passwords have been compromised, your iPhone checks your saved credentials against a local list of commonly leaked passwords.
Source link







